ON THE HORIZON – VIENNA ARTS SOCIETY
Subject to change. Check e-blast and website for details.
All events open to the public.
LOCATION: Vienna Art Center unless otherwise noted.
PHONE
: 703-319-3971
EMAIL artcenter@viennaartssociety.org

2019

EVENTS 2019

AUG-2-19

Thurs Aug 1 10:00 am  Plein Air at Colvin Mill
Fri Aug 2 Pick up Summer Favorites
Sat Aug 3, “Open Door” Photography competition delivery 10:00 am – 12:00
Tuesday, August 6 through Saturday, September 28, Shell Dance, an oil and mixed media solo show by Atti Wheeler at the VAS Gallery.
Tuesday, August 6 through August 31, “Open Door” Photography Show at VAS Art Center
Thurs Aug 8, 10:00 am  Plein Air at Colvin Mill
Sat Aug 10, 3:00 – 5:00 pm Reception for “Open Door” Photography Show and Healing Wall
Thurs. Aug 15, 10:00 – 11:30 am  Vienna Community Center – PICK UP ONLY!
Thurs Aug 15, 10:00am-2:00pm “Watercolor with Joe Philips”

SEP-2019

Mon. Sept 9, 1:00 pm , L’Image show change
Thursday, Sept 12, 7:30 pm  Members Meeting
Sat & Sun, Sept 28-29, 10:00am-4:00pm “Rachael McCampbell 2-Day Workshop

 

OCT-2019

Thursday, Oct 10, 7:30pm Members Meeting
Friday, Oct 18, 10:30, Ameriprise  Financial show change

NOV-2019

Sat. Nov 2 6pm Take A Seat Auction, ticket required
Mon. Nov 11 1pm L’Image show change
Thursday, Nov 14, Membership meeting

DEC-2019

Thursday, Dec. 12, 7:30 Members Holiday Celebration
Monday, Dec. 16 – Feb 3, Green Spring Show “ART IN THE GARDEN”

2020

EVENTS - 2020

JAN-2020

Thursday, Jan 9, 7:30 Members Meeting,
Mon. Jan 13, 2020 at 1pm , L’Image show change

MAR-2020

Friday March 27 through Sunday March 29 – Treasury of Art Show

2019

Past Events

JAN-2019

Thursday, Jan 9, 7:30 Members Meeting, Digital Tools at VAS with Nesli Esen and Donna Grone
Fri. Jan 18 Ameriprise Show Change 10:30 am
Wed Jan 23 Channel 10 Show Change 11:00 am
Mon. Jan 28 L’Image Show Change 1:00 am
Thurs Jan 31  Noon – 2:00 Greg Staley Photo Session

FEB-2019

Sun Feb 3 Calligraphy Study Group
Thursday, February 13, 7:30 Members Meeting, Q& A ,“Getting To Know VAS”
Thurs Feb 14  11- 2:00 Introduction to Mosaics with Bonnie Fitzgerald
Thurs Feb 14 7:30 – 9:00 Membership  Meeting: Mix, Mingle and get info on everything you ever wanted to know, Benches, Treasury of Art. etc. Experts will answer all your questions
Thurs Feb 21 11- 2 Introduction to Mosaics with Bonnie Fitzgerald
Sat Feb 23 Maverick Mosaics Study group (bring your issues to Bonnie)
Mon Feb 25 Take down Green Spring Gardens 10:45 am
Thurs Feb 28  11 – 2 Introduction to Mosaics with Bonnie Fitzgerald

MAR-2019

Mar.1 Fri 10 – 11:30, Vienna Community Center show change
Mar 3-4 “Take a Seat, Vienna” benches due to Art Center
Weds Mar 6, 7:00 am – 7:30 pm Philadelphia Flower Show
Mon March 11 Show change at Art Center to Rhapsody in Blue
Mar. 11, Mon. 1pm , L’Image show change
Thurs March 14 General Membership meeting and Demo by Sissy Cutchen on Contemporary American Folk Art
Mar. 27, Wed. at 11:00, Channel 10 show change

APR-2019

Thursday, April 4 through Sunday April 7. Treasury of Art Show at the Vienna Community Center
Thurs April 11, 7:30 pm Membership Meeting with Carla Jaranson
Hang Meadowlark Gardens Date & Time TBD
Hang Reston Government Center Date & Time TBD
Mon Apr 15 Kids Printmaking Workshop at Patrick Henry Library

Fri & Sat April 19 & 20 Collage Workshop with Lassie Corbett
Fri, Apr. 26, at 10:45, Ameriprise Financial show change

Fri April 26 11:00 – 2:00 Watercolor Workshop with Joe Phillips
Sun Apr 28, 2:00 – 5:00 Walk on the Hill with Rick Speight Book Signing at Art Center

Sun April 28 4:00 – 6:00 Rhapsody in Blue Reception

MAY-2019

Sat May 4 10 – 5:00 pm Color theory and gradations for mosaic art
Sun May 5 10 – 3:00 Mosaic study group with Bonnie Fitzgerald (Professional help in completing your project)
Mon, May 6,  Show Change, Bursting Out All Over, VAS Art Center

Thursday, May 9, 7:30pm, Members Meeting, with Deborah Conn, nominations due
Mon May 13, 1pm, L’Image show change
Wed. May 22, at 11:00, Channel 10 show change

Wed, May 22, 1pm or 7pm, New Member Orientation, Contact: smkowalewski@verizon.net

Fri. May 31, 10-11:30, Vienna Community Center show change

JUN-2019

Mon. July 8, 1pm, L’Image show change
Weds June 6  6:00 pm – 9:00 pm Drop in Studio with David Delano
Thurs June 6 10:00 am Plein Air at Burke Lake
Weds June 12  6:00 – 9:00 Drop in Studio with David Delano
Thurs June 13 7:30 pm Membership meeting
Thurs June 13 10:00 am Plein Air at Burke Lake
Thurs June 13 7:30 VAS Election and Membership meeting, Demo by Lesley Riley
Weds June 19  6:00 – 9:00 Drop in Studio with David Delano
Thurs. June 20 10:00 – 2:00 Joe Phillips Watercolor Workshop
Thurs June 20   10:00 am Plein Air at Accotink Trail (enter at Arlington Blvd & Nutley)
Weds June 26  6:00 – 9:00 Drop in Studio with David Delano
Thurs June 27  10:00 am Plein Air at Accotink Trail (enter at
Arlington Blvd & Nutley)
Thurs June 27 6:30 PM Sip & Make a Scarf

JUL-2019

Mon July 1, 10:00 -11:30 Hang “Summer Favorites” & Healing Wall Installation
Tues July 2 10:00 Plein Air at Freeman Store Vienna
Mon. July 8, 1pm, L’Image show change
Thurs July 11, 10:00 Plein Air at Freeman Store Vienna
Thurs July 18, 10:00 Plein Air at River Bend Park
Thurs July 18, 10:00am-2:00pm “Watercolor with Joe Philips”
Fri. July 19, 10:30, Ameriprise Financial show change
Thurs July 25, 10:00 Plein Air at River Bend Park